FACULTY AND STAFF

Administration

Rev. Tom Winstead

Headmaster 

tw@midschool.org

 

  • Studied Fine Arts in Graphic Design and Illustration with a minor Communications- Public Relations from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

  • Master of Christian Education from Pfeiffer University (2003)

  • Masters of Divinity from Union Seminary (2011)

  • Certified Christian Educator (PCUSA) (2005)

  • Founded and Operated Early Beginnings since 2003

  • Founded and Operated Mountain Island Day School since 2009

 

Tammy Winstead

Vice President and Director of Student Life​

twinstead@earlybeginningscdc.com

 

  • Studied Psychology with a minor in Communications from University of North Carolina at Charlotte

  • Founded and Operated Early Beginnings since 2003

  • Founded and Operated Mountain Island Day School since 2009

 

Kimberly Verdi

Director of Family Life

kverdi@midschool.org

 

  • Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a concentration in Hospitality

 

 

Faculty

Lower School

 

DeFerrus Davis

Transitional Kindergarden

ddavis@midschool.org

*BA in Liberal Arts

Elementary Education Concentration

Farrah Gomez                  

Kindergarten   

fgomez@midschool.org

*BS in Birth through Kindergarten Education from Western Carolina University

*12 years of teaching experience

 

Leslie Norman

Kindergarden

lnorman@midschool.org

*BA in Criminal Justice/Psychology from Western Carolina University

*K-6 Licensure from UNC Charlotte

*MA in Elementary Education from Pfeiffer University

*NC Licensed Teacher 

*Ten years of teaching experience

Meredith Herman

1st Grade

mherman@midschool.org

*BS in Elementary Education from Appalachian State University

*MA in Reading from Appalachian State University

*Literacy Specialist

*NC Licensed Teacher

*12 years teaching experience

Jennifer Ray

1st Grade

jray@midschool.org

*BA in Communications from UNC Charlotte

*MA in Education from UNC Charlotte

*NC Licensed Teacher

*Six years teaching experience

Adrian Earl

2nd Grade

aearl@midschool.org

*BS in Education from Johnson C. Smith University

*Thirteen years teaching experience

*NC Licensed Teacher

Whitney Antley           

3rd Grade              

wantley@midschool.org

*BS Interdisciplinary Study Elementary Education K-6th 

*Minor in Religion 

*Three years experience in education

*NC Licensed Teacher

Kristine Poole               

4th Grade            

kpoole@midschool.org

*BA Business Management from Alberto College

*8 years teaching experience

*NC Licensed Teacher

Faculty

Upper School

 

 

 

 

 

 

Noah Aderman

5th-6th English and Science

naderman@midschool.org

*BS in Biblical and Educational Studies from Liberty University

*Minor in Church Ministries from Liberty University

 

Cherie Hudson                

5th-6th Math and History

chudson@midschool.org

*BA in Elementary Education from UNC Charlotte

*MA in Elementary Education from UNC Charlotte 

*Fourteen years Teaching Experience

*NC Licensed Teacher

 

Trent Hopkins                

7th-11th Social Studies

thopkins@midschool.org

*BS in  Pre-Law (Political Science) from Appalachian State University

*MA Biblical and Theological Studies from Reformed Theological Seminary

*Licensed and Ordained Minister

 

 

 

Porscha Penn                

7th-11th Math 

ppenn@midschool.org

*BS in Kinesiology from James Madison University

*M. Ed. from Strayer University

*Educational Specialist Degree in Early Childhood Education

*Five years teaching experience

 

Amie Tucker                

7th-11th Science

atucker@midschool.org

*BA in Psychology from UNC Charlotte

*MA in Teaching Special Education from Western Carolina University

*NC Licensed Teacher

*National Board Educator

*Eleven years teaching experience

 

 

Lizzie Williams              

7th-11th English Language Arts

lwilliams@midschool.org

*BA in English Literature from Erskine College

*Minor in Secondary Education from Erskine College

*Nine years teaching experience

Electives

Doug Cox

TK-11th Physical Education 

PE/Healthdcox@midschool.org

Athletic Director/Physical Education/Health Specials Teachers

Kasey West

TK-11th Art    

ksauls@midschool.org

*BS in Elementary Education from Appalachian University

*Concentration in Visual Arts

*NC Teaching License

*Four years teaching experience

Tami Edwards Thomas

Tk-11th Drama    

tedwards@midschool.org

*BA Communication Studies

*BA Dramatic Art

*MFA Performing Arts Management

LaFouji Alexander

Tk-11th Music/Band    

lalexander@midschool.org

*BA Communications and Music from Western Carolina University

*Five years post secondary teaching experience

Señor Pablo Gabriel Mendieta

TK-11th Spanish

pmendieta@midschool.org

*Pursuing Master of Education degree in Teaching Spanish as a Foreign
Language from University of Barcelona, Spain

*Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from West Virginia
Wesleyan College

*Pre-Electrical Engineering degree from National University of Rosario,
Argentina

*NC Teaching License

*Three years teaching experience

Exceptional Children

Julie Hopkins

Academic Support Speech/ Communication Therapist   

jhopkins@midschool.org

*BS in Speech Therapy/Communications from Appalachian State University.

*Pursuing Master of Science degree in Communication disorders/Special Education from Winthrop University. 

* 26 Years experience in education 

 

 

I

Staff

Raquel Bright-Teacher Assistant/Afterschool

 

Becky Henry-Afterschool

 

Cindy Henry-Front desk/After school

 

Connie Johnston-Cafeteria coordinator/ Afterschool

 

Roger Tate-Bus Driver

 

Selina Watts-Afterschool Coordinator

 

Mountain Island Day School 1209 Little Rock Road Charlotte NC 28216   704-391-5516

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
  • w-youtube